half term crushed. frenzy begins now. full stop. full stop.

Last week was half term. And it was super cold. We braved the junior set mobs and explored more of London. Plus some other stuff.

Monday: we went to the V&A Museum. It’s not a great museum for kids but the museum did its best to create some half-term activities (scavenger hunt) out of the Asian art rooms. Jonah rallied and was rewarded with a Goldilocks & the Three Bears puppet show. Simon was strapped into the stroller so gets no credit for appropriate behavior.

Our good friend Mike was in town for work from New York and came over that night for dinner. Simon defecated on the kitchen floor in his honor.

IMG_2691 IMG_2692

Tuesday: we invited Nina and her mum, Tessa to go check out the Disney Cafe at Harrods with us. The real gem is the whole adjacent Disney pop-up store with Disney-movie themed sections. The cafe itself is cute but with that many Disney movies playing on repeat, the kids just stare like zombies.Which is nice if you want to chat with your adult companion. I was glad for one last trip to Harrods. There is no department store on Earth like it.

IMG_4141 IMG_4113 IMG_4175

Wednesday: I have been to the Science Museum many, many times (it is one of the best museums in its appeal to kids I have ever been to) but I have never seen it that swarmed with people. Times like that make me re-think my personal rule about not using those kid leashes on my children. Oh who am I kidding- Simon would chew through it.

IMG_2698 IMG_2694

Thursday: the kids were with Melissa and I had the rare lady of leisure day that didn’t involve my laptop. Belen, Sarah, and I met for lunch and then Sarah and I did a quick tour through the National Portrait Gallery finishing up with tea at the cafe at the top. It’s known for its incredible views and even my high expectations for that were exceeded. Also, Sarah was nice and didn’t make fun of me when I kept just taking pictures of the Royals’ portraits.

That night I met Emma and Elizabeth for dinner in Marylebone. As our days here in London are numbered, there are lots of goodbye meals. Just when I was mastering the fork in my left hand.

IMG_2704 IMG_2703 IMG_2708 IMG_2705

Friday: Tessa and I took our kids to the Tate Britain for Big and Small day which is just a cute name for half-term population explosions. This is another non kid-friendly museum that did its best to come up with activities for the wee ones. I was floored that said activities took place in close proximity to very famous art. Simon was always inches away from what looked like a brazen heist.

At night we met Caitte, my law school friend, for dinner. I will miss all these people who pass through London for work. Although I am pretty sure they all pass through NY too.

IMG_4209 IMG_4215

Saturday: I talked the family (gave them no choice) and Ingo and Adeline into trying out Baby Loves Disco. I had been reading about this monthly club party for kids for years. It started in NY and is big in London now. The theme this month was Mardi Gras and it’s a pretty cool concept. There is a DJ, dancing, face painting, soft play, and arts & crafts. All in a dank, gross-smelling club on a Saturday afternoon. I definitely had this crazy moment where I realized I was sharing my kids’ first clubbing experience with them. They have some serious moves and Simon is honestly rave-ready. For his second birthday, we’ve got the glo-sticks on order.

That night we had dinner at the Ingles. Thanks, Ingles!

IMG_4296 IMG_4359 IMG_4285 IMG_4353

Sunday: we met the Trumbells at the Purim carnival at the West London Synagogue followed by Lebanese food on Edgware Road. Lots of lasts. Lots of lasts. Last falafel.

IMG_4429 IMG_4417

Now it’s Monday. And we did very little. People sometimes comment that I am fairly ambitious about taking the kids out to places around London during the day. But if they ever stayed home with us, they would understand.

IMG_4465

It’s the longest sofa ever invented in humankind, but just go ahead and sit right on top of the laundry.

IMG_2713

30 seconds.

3 Comments

Filed under food, friends, london, photos, royals, weather

3 responses to “half term crushed. frenzy begins now. full stop. full stop.

  1. Sonjey

    Crazy blog! You go girl. I can’t wait to join you on your New York excursions. The kids are so lucky! Enjoy these last few weeks. I know it’s tough. Xxoo

  2. helene

    Just found your blog and I am an NYC mom of two young children moving to london for 5 years. I enjoyed reading all the great things you did while there.

Leave a Reply

