my favourite things #17

Shame, shame, shame on me. I did not write about a single favourite thing in 2012. Even though there are thousands to choose from.

Worse, I hadn’t yet mentioned the

electric tea kettle.

url

The one we have. Thank you, landlord.

A staple of every, single British home, hotel room and office space, the electric cordless tea kettle has changed my life. It’s not that they’re not available in the US, it’s that people in that crazy country don’t view them as an integral part of a home. Yet. Because when they discover how fast an electric tea kettle boils water for tea, pasta, eggs, filling a bathtub when the hot water heater is yet again up to no good, etc, well it’s only a matter of time. In a tea-loving, rainy, cold isle such as the one I am currently inhabiting, it makes sense. But I know an electric tea kettle can make a happy home anywhere.

As we speak, I am enjoying some chocolate tea in an I (heart) NY mug. My worlds colliding, but yet so cozy.

5 Comments

Filed under culture clash, food, product placement

5 responses to “my favourite things #17

  1. sonjey

    I have been using mine for the last year….. What did I do before then! I may need an upgrade!

Leave a Reply

