the past week or so in overshare

Two weekends ago, on the third attempt, we finally successfully visited the Cutty Sark (yep, I italicised). Our first foray to Greenwich was awesome, even if the ship was still being repaired from a devastating fire. The second time with friends, we had terrible time management and no one was into anything. This time was perfect because we had seen everything else around and so could just take the kids on the ship. I always assumed it was from some naval battle. That’s how good I am at history. I assume things. In fact, the Cutty Sark is a famous merchant ship. The last surviving tea clipper, to be exact. It tells a story of a different time and the way goods were traded by sail from Asia- first around the horn of Africa, and then through the Suez Canal beginning in 1869 which meant the demise of sailing ships for trade since only the steam ships could manage a passage without the help of trade winds. I just dropped some knowledge on you, and it was fascinating. Also, Bryan and I have always had a weird obsession with scurvy. And so you can imagine how excited I got when I saw the replica canister of lime juice.

       

Then this past weekend, I can report that we saw Killing Them Softly (I italicised again. Boom.) at the cinema (I’m so pretentious) and not one, not two, but three couples walked out in the middle of the film. I cannot remember the last time I saw that happen. People didn’t even leave Anaconda when I was watching it in 1997 at AMC Courthouse. It doesn’t make sense.

We also did the pedalo boats at Regent’s Park. I always want to do them and Bryan never wants to and then like once every five years I win. I won!

We had Family Fun Evening with the Trainballs and the kids were all well-behaved and Jonah didn’t even mind not having Elmo pajamas from Primark. Did Primark make it to America yet? Get thee there.

Bryan, a true fan, bought tickets to see Radiohead both nights they were in London this week. We went Monday with friends and it was an amazing show in many respects, but there was not even close to enough old material for me. I get stressed out when musicians just play new stuff. I was so distracted that I was checking Twitter to see if anyone else felt the same, and that’s when I discovered Aaron Paul aka Jesse Pinkman from Breaking Bad was at the show. Inexplicably, with Pierce Brosnan in tow. Jesse Effing Pinkman. Be still my heart. And so what do you know- when Bryan went back Tuesday night with different friends but not me, Radiohead played lots of their classics and the boys ran into AARON PAUL AKA JESSE PINKMAN. Apparently David shook his hand or patted him on the back or something. But first he yelled “Breaking Bad!”

 +  +  = 

Bitch.

3 Comments

Filed under celebrities, friends, london, music - HA!, photos, scurvy, sports, tv

3 responses to “the past week or so in overshare

  1. I am LOL’ing at the perfectly-placed “Bitch” here, so, thank you for that.

  2. Sonjey

    Great blog. Kid pics are adorable. Omg! We love Aaron Paul!

Leave a Reply

