wow, it’s autumn. that’s so unusual for london

It’s cold again. It was cold through July. That means it was only not cold for about six weeks in 2012. But wow did I take advantage of those six weeks. I dramatically switched all the family’s winter and summer clothes and wore at least three maxi dresses at a time. Now I need gloves. Also, all the big stores have their Christmas displays.

After an incredibly exciting summer of travel and the Olympics, there is something nice about the pretend changing of the seasons. Jonah is going to preschool a few mornings and every time we ask him what he did at school, he says “I played.” It’s all very mysterious.

As for the rest of the kids in London, I see them out going to and fro in their school uniforms in droves. I don’t know if there are just a ridiculous number of primary schools in Marylebone, but at two distinct times of day the sidewalks and playgrounds are filled with kids decked out in navy, pale blue or hunter green, older girls in black tights, and I am reminded each and every day how the United States is unusual in not implementing the uniform thing. I do love the look of it, and the idea. Oh, America.

The other day I dropped the kids off at Melissa’s. In my normal state of preoccupation, we made it to her flat less one sneaker/trainer for Simon and one dummy/pacifier. I lost it a little bit because heck no am I buying a new pair of shoes. Otherwise what is the joy of saving hand-me-downs. So I said, “I am going to re-trace my steps.” You see, I have always noticed here that when people find something left on the ground, they just hang it or place it right at the location. It’s this little utopian system when not evolving into theft. And so I re-traced my steps. And stared at the ground. Eventually I had to look up to cross the street:

We had the High Holy days. The nursery manager at Jonah’s school caught me off guard and asked me to come in and give a little presentation to the kids on Rosh Hashanah. I said yes and then I was terrified. My brain could only process that she meant to ask my mom, not me. My mom is the one who is supposed to do those things. Anyway, if you have never seen me pretend to blow a Shofar and make the corresponding sound effects, you have not really lived and I am sorry for that. As for Yom Kippur, well I just spent the whole day Googling “what time is sunset GMT?” And I would like to think I am cleansed and atoned and this new year will be the start of even further striving towards high character, but alas my personality is business as usual. Next year, maybe.

Because it’s London, people are coming and going. Kate, a mum I met 3 years ago when Jonah was at Gymboree made a last-minute date to play when she was visiting this week from Australia. And outgoing last week was Julie and her family. They were only here for this year from the US and so I am grateful Bryan’s mom picked her up for me at the playground and that my mom helped her with a place to live once back on US soil. Elliot is a sweet, sweet girl and Jonah always liked when we would get to see her. Even for the little ones here, you have to get used to goodbyes.

We’ve also had a run of 1 year-old birthday parties lately. It’s always fun to see how many little people are products of a happy New Year’s Eve between their parents. And not that I am trying to insinuate anything, but welcome also little William in Annapolis! Early like your brother. Already so thoughtful to save your mom those 9th month stretch marks. I’m not projecting. Can’t wait to meet you!

There, I mentioned the Christian New Year. And earlier I mentioned the Jewish one. This blog post has come full circle and so my work here is done.

8 Comments

Filed under a bunch of boring stuff, a new dimension in life, friends, holidays, london, mommyblogging, photos, weather

8 responses to “wow, it’s autumn. that’s so unusual for london

  1. toshalot

    ahhhh! i canNOT believe there was the shoe! that is GREAT!
    also, you did leave Simon’s binky at my house this summer. oh wait. no, you didn’t leave it. i was holding him and he dropped it on the ground and you told me to just put it in my pocket. after we said goodbye and i went home, i realized it was still in my pocket. so. its in my silverware drawer now. i mean, i washed it first before i put it in there. i don’t know. so. i have it still.

  2. sonjey

    Oh my, I love the shoe story! Remember when I was freaking out after Simon’s birth visit, over the loss of his hand knitted hat that was no longer sitting on top of his little head. I retraced every step, every store and low and behold, there it was on a table outside a tiny bistro off the High Street. The Brits have it right! Congrats to Dan and Ellen! I think………..

  3. When we lived in Wimbledon my son had a favorite stuffed animal, and I was pushing him into town one day, and he dropped it. I freaked, and was worried we would never find another one, and on our walk home someone had found it and placed it on top of a wall. I was so, so happy. I love that they do that!

  4. rebecca

    the shoe is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

