totally patriotic expats!

I was so excited to see a London paper interviewing Yankee expats for 4th of July yesterday, until I read the article. Are we surprised they spoke only to whiny (whingey) turncoats? Had they interviewed me, I would have said how proud I am – despite health care policy, the intersection of politics and religion, ubiquity of guns and violence, parental leave policies, preservatives in food, food policies generally, no ability to reserve seats in a movie theater and the fact they still have to take your credit card away from you when settling the bill at a restaurant – to be American.

Our day started off disappointing. Everyone in my neighborhood was acting like it was just another day. But then the sun came out, and I found this disgusting thing in Waitrose.

And our friends saved us from a total lack of celebrations. Yay, Independence!

I just feel better when I can make one of those awful flag cakes.

Now I am totally getting psyched for Bastille Day.

1 Comment

Filed under food, friends, holidays, london, photos

One response to “totally patriotic expats!

  1. Oh man, they really found the most heinous Americans they could for that article, didn’t they?

Leave a Reply

