diamond jubilee

Well, it’s just bonkers here. I couldn’t do it justice if I tried. I wasn’t expecting this. Who knew.

In a nutshell, here is what’s important:

From Wikipedia – The Diamond Jubilee of Queen Elizabeth II is the international celebration throughout 2012 marking the 60th anniversary of the accession of Queen Elizabeth II to the thrones of seven countries upon the death of her father, King George VI, on 6 February 1952. She is today queen regnant of 16 sovereign states, 12 of which were British colonies or Dominions at the start of her reign.

The UK has been given a 4-day weekend Jubilee weekend (so an extra holiday day) to celebrate and there are thousands of events, celebrations and street parties planned throughout the long weekend. The crowning (hahahaha) event is The Thames Diamond Jubilee Pageant consisting of a royal barge joining in a flotilla of 1,000 boats to travel the Thames along the seven miles between Battersea and Tower Bridges. During the rest of the weekend, in London alone, there is also an official music concert at Buckingham Palace, a St. Paul’s Cathedral service, a carriage procession, a balcony appearance and an RAF fly-past.

It is fascinating to me that Queen Elizabeth II was never even meant to be Queen. It is only because her Uncle abdicated to marry an American divorcee and her stuttering father died young (I watch movies) that she has ruled as long as she has. Plenty of people would like to see the monarchy abolished. I understand all the reasons why- My hesitation is just wondering what would happen to all the bunting.

You can now truly buy anything with the Union Jack on it. I scored these for the kids

 

Also, we’ve procured some supplies

And Jonah has been getting into it

And let’s talk bunting for one sec. The bunting in this country right now is off the charts.

Banksy isn’t into the bunting though. He’s always so grumpy about something.

There are stats about bunting internet searches.

Some communities are even calling on their citizens to help with the bunting.

Think I’m done talking about bunting? Not even close.

Bunting.

Bunting.

Bunting.

We’ll be in Isle of Wight this weekend. It’s an island off the south coast, in the English Channel. I wanted something British seaside-y and since it will be rather cold, I think I will get my wish. I am hoping Jubilee celebrations there are in full force as I do hate to miss the London ones. But a traffic sign I saw while walking yesterday meant for motorists on the Ring Road summed it up best: “Avoid Central London during Jubilee Weekend.”

I’ll have plenty to report after the long weekend. Expect to see more Union Jack things and some bunting.

Bunting.

2 Comments

Filed under royals

2 responses to “diamond jubilee

  1. toshalot

    Funny. I read this post while on the train to work this morning. Then I look at my Google news feed under the Oakland section and see this article- http://www.seattlepi.com/business/press-releases/article/Celebrate-the-Queens-Diamond-Jubilee-with-Baker-s-3600775.php

Leave a Reply

