mom

You and you

I love.

I am grateful.

Whatever you are, be a good one. – Abraham Lincoln

I love my mom’s smile. I love how she can’t run, even across the street. So I am always worried she will get run over by a car, but she never does. I love how 90% of my clothes she buys for me- because I am lazy and she loves to shop for me. We are a perfect match. I love her paintings. Her decorating style. How messy her car always is. I love (and hate) how when I am sick or in pain, she is sick and in pain. I love how busy she is. I love how she is with little kids. I love her as a grandmother. I love how my mom will always live in a house where the door is always open. Literally and figuratively. And I love how everyone who knows her knows that about her.

I love my stepmom’s laugh, and how generous she is with it. I can see why my dad thinks he is so funny. I love how thoughtful she is. How good her homemade salad dressing is. How much she does for her community. How she knows all the neighbors’ names and what’s going on in their lives, and how she is almost like a throwback to another era when people knew and cared about their neighbors. I love her as a grandmother. I love how many Christmas decorations she puts up every year. You can tell a lot about a person by how much they love Christmas.

I love how genuine my mother-in-law is. How she loves people unabashedly. How young she seems and how it’s clear that’s why all her middle school students love her. I love that my mother-in-law is a cheerleading coach, for pete’s sake. How there is always a delicious barbecue in the works when you get to her house. That I have never seen her real nails. How pristine her car is. I love her as a grandmother. I love that she remembers every single thing about my extended family and friends and always asks how they are doing. And I love that she really wants to know.

4 Comments

Filed under a new dimension in life, family

4 responses to “mom

  1. And how easy it is for all three of us to love you. Happy Mothers Day, Babe.

  2. AutieFig

    Yay for some very amazing Mom Ladies!

  3. sonjey

    I love the mom in you!!!!! I’m touched

  4. Jenny

    Happy mummy day Yael! Xo

Leave a Reply

