my favourite things #9

This is a huge one, that’s how much I love it.

British people call cream cheese

Philadelphia.

Seriously, that’s it. You could say something like, “all this bagel needs is a little Philadelphia” and that would make sense. In fact, I have found that saying cream cheese is more confusing. If you insist on the word cheese, then you must say “Philadelphia cheese”.

It turns out, the fact that the particular brand of cream cheese owned by Kraft is even called Philadelphia is somewhat arbitrary. As opposed to it meaning it is the birthplace or heartland of good cream cheese (if there was such a thing) – in fact the cheese was first made in New York. And given the number of Jewish delis and the superiority of bagels in New York, one might be surprised that wasn’t the city chosen. But instead, in 1880

‘Philadelphia’ is adopted as the brand name, after the city that was considered at the time to be the home of top quality food.

I wanted to laugh out loud when I read that, but actually, Philadelphia food is pretty damn good. So why not.

Back to cream cheese in the UK. I love seeing the listings for it when I shop for groceries online. Note the lack of “cream cheese” written anywhere really. Not necessary.

I love me some Philadelphia- especially with chives.

4 Comments

Filed under culture i guess, food, product placement

4 responses to “my favourite things #9

  1. I got a little scared, because the word “Philadelphia” leapt/leaped/whatever it is out at me. I thought you meant the city of your parents’ birth, and I wondered how visiting Aunt Gert would have had that kind of impact on you. But the cream cheese is good.

  2. summer

    They call it Philadelphia in Mexico too! Except it’s “Filadelfia.”

  3. Caitlin

    I am officially hungry and need someone to FedEx me one everything bagel with lox and cream cheese, pronto! Awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

