the littlest jewish-ish father christmas

I actually don’t know the difference between Father Christmas and Santa Claus. I think there might be some nuanced difference, and I will just hope and pray one of the readers of this blog clears it up for me. In the meantime, it does appear that Father Christmas is the preferred mythical figure in the UK. Same as the preference to say “Happy Christmas”. And yet, every now and then you see a British person or establishment speaking of Santa and wishing you a Merry. These people are so confusing.

Santacon (not FatherChristmascon) is alive and well here in London. You may remember our brief foray last year into the mayhem. I am a believer in Santacon. Google it for the full flavor. It is the flashmob Santa parade/bar crawl/gathering that takes place each year weeks before Christmas in cities all over the world. The fantastic thing about it is the cultivation and appreciation of spontaneity, goodwill, cheerfulness and good behavior- despite the hundreds and hundreds of participants. Only people dressed as elves have to watch their backs.

Well I decided this year to take Jonah to Santacon London 2009. In the first instance because his Jewish grandmother gave him a little Santa suit, and it was begging to be shown to the world. Secondly, because I am a bit crazy/mad as a mother and I do things like that.

So a couple Saturdays ago it was me, Jonah, and about 500 people between the ages of 18 and 40. All of them drinking at the pub that served as the day’s staging point. When I tell you that Jonah was the most popular person there, I am not exaggerating. When I tell you that about 100 people took photos of him, I am speaking the truth. There are even strangers’ photos of him on flickr. People were begging to pose with him and Big Santas were shouting HELLO, BABY SANTA!!! You would have thought they saw little Jesus in the manger for all their excitement. Wait a second…

6 Comments

Filed under culture i guess, holidays, jonah, london, photos, translation

6 responses to “the littlest jewish-ish father christmas

  1. Danglers

    That is some A+ parenting right there.

  2. mdouris25

    You guys are seriously the best parents out there! I accidentally got tangled in the Santacon crawl when I was in Seattle a few weeks ago … it was a wee bit overwhelming – but perhaps that’s because I was dressed normally and sober? Happy Christmas and Merry Hanukkah to you both!

  3. Ellen Passel

    Yes, great parenting–also great grandparenting (I’m a friend of Renee’s). Happy Merry to the two of you and the spectacularly cute Jonah.

  4. Looks like lots of fun!!! I’ve never heard of Santacon. I must go check out if there is one in Philadelphia.

    And I just love him in the little Santa suit with the menorrah (sp?). That’s precious.

  5. Big Bro

    The Santa Baby-Menorah pic is a classic.

  6. toshalot

    Appears as though Jonah most liked the first Santa who was busting out of his jacket at the beer belly.

Leave a Reply

