rewind I: va and pa

Now I have time to go back a month to Sept. 1. Away we go.

Virginia

Jonah took his first-ever flight and it happened to be an international one at that. And his mom/mum was solo. Not that I’m bragging. Okay, a little. British Airways has these trays that come down from the wall in front of the bulkhead seats and the flight attendants will place a bassinet there for you. It’s quite amazing, really. Jonah slept a good amount of the flight, and had very few meltdowns overall. This was good since my English seatmate, Paul, became Jonah’s surrogate father at the tender age of 24 years-old. Paul, wherever you are, I hope your research on Richard Nixon went well and I hope you enjoyed my lesson in lactation. My mother was waiting at Dulles with a balloon. It was the sweetest welcome ever. Even if I had to handle all our luggage myself.

IMG_8424 IMG_8426 IMG_8428 -1

That night everyone and their mom (in some cases, literally) came over to see the J man. They came bearing gifts. Three weeks later we had a huge suitcase filled with them. Thanks everyone! And then we worked off our jet lag.

IMG_8454 IMG_8471

We headed to my dad & stepmom’s after. Jonah’s first real crib to sleep in and first time meeting a dog. And while we’re on firsts- first time mama drove him solo. I only swerved over the yellow line once. My dad passed down to his grandson a castle he first built for Micah. We are honored to have it.

IMG_8493 IMG_8496 IMG_8515 IMG_8502 IMG_8524

Then back to mom’s. More friends came over and then that night a few of us had a little baby shower for Summer. Jonah has many girlfriends but right now he is saving himself for Luisa. Who was a little fresh with him, truth be told. See for yourself.

IMG_8545 IMG_8557 IMG_8600 IMG_8634

IMG_8615 IMG_8616 IMG_8621 IMG_8627

And guess what news Becky (Rebecca to you, please) had?!!

IMG_8630

Friday was family over and then we were off.

IMG_8655 IMG_8664 IMG_8674 IMG_8680

Pennsylvania

My mom drove with us to West Chester, PA to see aunt/uncle/cousins/cousins’ kids (I forget what that makes them to me). Good peoples. Good times. For my aunt’s birthday, my cousin Jason had us all to his  c o u n t r y  c l u b. Play on, playa!!

IMG_8693 IMG_8739

The next day I was supposed to seamlessly pick up a rental car near my great aunt but it didn’t happen that way. There is a story involving Labor Day weekend, the Philadelphia airport, a rogue GPS instruction and two different rental car companies but let’s save that one for when I can bore you in person.

Stay tuned tomorrow for where Bryan joins in Part II: Manhattan and then later Part III: Long Island. Part IV will eventually follow: Bryan’s trip to Scotland sans wife and baby which simultaneously coincided with his uninterrupted nights of plentiful sleep.

1 Comment

Filed under family, friends, photos, travel

One response to “rewind I: va and pa

  1. Aunt Barky

    Oh my gosh my little baby bump is famous!

Leave a Reply

