seattle for the wedding of my irish twin and his lovely bride

IMG_0217

We’re back from a three week adventure in the U.S. of A. I am sure I have enough stories and photos for twenty blog posts. But I think I will start from the end: The Wedding.

My older brother, Josh, and his lovely fiancee Kaci, got married in Seattle this past Saturday. My family flew in the Monday before and had a whole week to celebrate this union 9 years in the making. The main problem with Seattle is that if you spend longer than 5 minutes there, you will start fantasizing about moving there. And it happened to be almost 80 degrees most of the week. Throw in the views of Mount Rainier, hilltop neighborhoods, overabundance of green and water in every direction and yeah, we were all goners. Smitten once again.

So the wedding. Incredible. The second best wedding I have ever been to in my life. And I have been to many. And yes, I can be objective here. I am a wedding snob after all. The week in pictures:

Uncle Josh got to finally meet his nephew in person

IMG_9654 IMG_9663

My dad and stepmom stayed on a sailboat for the week so Tuesday night the captain motored us around the Puget Sound on the Fury for a sunset cruise with incredible views

IMG_7943 IMG_7966 IMG_7992 IMG_7957 IMG_7961 IMG_8008

Wednesday Uncle Micah and Aunt Janelle finally got to meet their nephew too and the brother and brothers-in-law took Josh out for a Bachelor night

IMG_9668 IMG_8027

The Bachelor festivities continued on Thursday with golf and Bloody Marys in the morning and then that night my family got together for an impromptu barbecue at the big ‘ol rental house we got a few blocks from the bride and groom in West Seattle. Friends of ours, Heather and Mark, also came over and when dusk fell a family of raccoons decided to join us. That seemed like a good time to move inside.

IMG_8041 IMG_8047 IMG_8048 IMG_8050 IMG_9711 IMG_9692

Poor Kaci was sick all week but rallied for a great rehearsal dinner Friday night at The Steelhead Diner near Pike Place market. My family was in charge of emceeing and making sure Josh was properly roasted and the couple duly toasted.

IMG_9734 IMG_9801 IMG_9818 IMG_9822 IMG_9825 IMG_9837 IMG_9930 IMG_9980

THE INCREDIBLE WEDDING | Ceremony at Jack Block Park | Cocktails and Reception at the Georgetown Ballroom

The blip of drizzly weather on the radar screen gave us an evening reprieve so that Josh and Kaci could wed on a beautiful, simple pier with all of the Seattle skyline behind them. The siblings made up the attendants, Kaci’s 5 year-old nephew Roan wrote a beautiful poem (involving a hedgehog) and the officiant was the couple’s friend Scott who got ordained just for them. The ceremony was perfectly simple and witnessing it was one of the greatest moments of my life. And oh yeah- my brother is a handsome devil and Kaci looked stunning.

IMG_0092

IMG_0116

IMG_0100

IMG_0111 IMG_0129 IMG_0138 IMG_0159 IMG_0174 IMG_0184 IMG_0196 IMG_0209

The reception was fun and unique and delicious from start to finish. As Josh and Kaci are dedicated foodies, the caterers prepared amazing food and described each course in detail, much of which was served family-style. The flowers were done by a friend and they were the best I’ve seen. The siblings gave toasts and it was an honor to be able to say some words about these two people I love. Hopefully they laughed, they cried, it was better than Cats. The meal was followed by a rockin’ bluegrass band and then the pinnacle of it all- DJ My Husband and his 80s mix capped out the night along with 10 pizzas delivered for the late-night crew.

IMG_0267 IMG_0369 IMG_0301 IMG_0331 IMG_0325 IMG_0351 IMG_0359 IMG_0378 IMG_0384 IMG_0415 IMG_0424

Sunday morning you know we had to go watch football at a local sports bar. Luckily for my family, one side of the booth could watch the Redskins and our side the Jets. Thank you strategic tv placement. That night Josh and Kaci treated the family to a one-of-a-kind dining experience on a farm on Vashon Island. It merits its own blog post, trust me.

IMG_8113

Then we said goodbye on Monday with a scenic tour around West Seattle. I treasured the time with my whole family, watching Jonah with his uncles and aunts and grandparents, laughing with my brothers and soaking in that good American sunshine and food.

IMG_0623 IMG_0625 IMG_0641 IMG_0657

My son was a champion. He’s a gypsy, a traveler, an adventurer, a smiler, a laugher. He’s all that and then some.

IMG_9717

Oh and l’shanah tovah.

7 Comments

Filed under family, food, friends, jonah, photos, sports, travel

7 responses to “seattle for the wedding of my irish twin and his lovely bride

  1. Virginia

    Yeah FINALLY you are back!!!! Looks and sounds like a fabulous time with your family and friends. Can’t wait to hear and see about the rest of your trip!

  2. MiMi

    WOW! What a beautiful story and pictorial of our fabulous week-long celebration with Josh and Kaci. Cheers!!

  3. mdouris25

    Oh PLEASE PLEASE move to Seattle after London!! (And I’m so happy to know that someone else had a bluegrass band at their wedding, other than us!)

  4. NeNe

    The entire week was magical, and you’ve captured it in these photos. And dancing the hora on Rosh Hashanah to bluegrass music was one of the highlights!

  5. Big Bro

    Amazing photos and description. I loved re-living the week through this. We had the absolute best time with everyone this week.

  6. A wonderful story, beautiful pictures and love all around. …….thanks Yael….I want the wedding photo of Jonah with tie!

  7. toshalot

    Yay for Josh and Kaci! The photos are great and I’m so happy to hear you all had such a magical and fun trip. Yay!!!

Leave a Reply

