dartmouth, devon

Oh England.

IMG_7588

IMG_8025

We came back yesterday from a lovely (yes, LOVELY) long weekend in Dartmouth- which is a town in Devon. On the southwestern peninsula-like part of England. I don’t know what Devon is. I am too lazy to research on line whether they are called counties, shires, councils, boroughs, what have you. I do know that saying “we’re headed down to Devon this weekend” or “we’re off to our house in Cornwall” is best said with a very fine English accent and the realization that soon you will be taking in the bracing salt air of the English seaside. I like that it’s the “seaside”. Or the coast. In the U.S. we say the beach which just cheapens it, no? We should all instead grab a parasol and a swimming costume and head to the s e a s i d e.

Dartmouth is on the River Dart and is home to the Britannia Royal Naval College. It is a gorgeous place with homes on hillsides and a very preppy, nautical feel that New England stole. The jerks. But it’s why I wore all my stripey things. To fit in.

It was very good practice for us to travel with a baby. And two five-hour car trips. We packed 5 times as much as we usually do and it was the perfect amount. The towns don’t really allow for easy car travel so we had the stroller/pushchair all over, up and down the cobblestone streets, in the rain and in the restaurants- with a side of Shiraz. I am sure I am pushing my luck, but this little man, my man, lets momma and poppa do their thang. And he got to go on a boat for the first time as a reward. Which he slept through.

IMG_7591 IMG_7964

IMG_7894 IMG_7925 IMG_7587 IMG_7922 IMG_7945 IMG_7972 IMG_7977 IMG_7985 IMG_7989 IMG_7991 IMG_8001 IMG_8006 IMG_8017 IMG_7902 IMG_7601 IMG_7606

A room with a view, and a new baby-centered world for us

IMG_7879 IMG_7881 IMG_7887 IMG_7892

“The English Riviera” even has palm trees!

IMG_7931

why a naked woman and the Hamburglar go together on a children’s amusement ride is well beyond my simple worldview

IMG_7618

I love restaurant pics almost as much as food pics. Here is my gazpacho at one place, served in a beaker with a straw. Here is the Dartmouth Apprentice, in a renovated church, which sort of took my breath away. And it turns out it‘s good for humanity too.

IMG_7596 IMG_7636 IMG_7639

Grammar mistakes are fun to find while traveling. Well, for me.

IMG_7981

IMG_8015

Weird

IMG_7579

6 Comments

Filed under jonah, photos, travel, weather

6 responses to “dartmouth, devon

  1. Aunt Barky

    I want to eat Jonah right now.

  2. kate

    sounds amazing! how were the car rides?

  3. I love the two pictures of the same scene in different weathers. “Oh England” as you say.

  4. Farg

    What on earth is going on in that last picture?!

Leave a Reply

