no country for young man

A baby born to American citizens in the UK on a limited visa without residency, in my mind, is a person with no country. Not a citizen here and not an automatic American citizen either. This made me nervous. Like Tom Hanks in that movie where he had that weird accent and lived at the airport. Okay not like that at all. But remember that mosaic wall he made? Awesome!

Today we took the wee one to the U.S. Embassy, in posh Mayfair, to apply for his passport and social security number. Bryan took the day off work and it was a good thing as it was quite the process. It was a cool experience, if even just for the many families we spoke to in the waiting area. It’s amazing to see who has an American passport. There are so many Americans that marry a Brit, move here and raise a gaggle of children here. Those kids get U.S. passports, no matter how English they seem. I swear I saw Harry Potter in line speaking like Simon Cowell and wearing a Giants t-shirt. It’s like a very cool small international world crowd. We heard multiple love stories of Yankee/Brit marriages. My fave was the couple that lived in Park Slope for 6 years and then London for 6 years. The children get the coolest bizarre-o half-breed accents. I am jealous.

You will not be surprised to learn there is a monstrously hulkingly huge eagle looming down from above the Embassy. I kept thinking George W. Bush was going to mount the eagle and then repel down the building facade. Americans!

IMG_7303 IMG_7305 IMG_7304 IMG_7308 IMG_7306

7 Comments

Filed under photos, politics...sike!, quantum physics

7 responses to “no country for young man

  1. Elizabeth

    I had to get Australian citizenship for Vivian. Thankfully, I could do it all by mail. It did require a LOT of accompanying documents, including my own original birth certificate.

    They are introducing a ballot initiative here in California to deny automatic citizenship to babies born to illegal immigrants. I’m not at all sure that a state can impose that on the federal government, but it will be interesting if it passes.

    I didn’t realize Britain had a similar rule. I figured Jonah would have dual citizenship. What would he have to do to get British Citizenship?

  2. What – they won’t give him British citizenship??
    My kiddos are American because they were born here (not because their parents are American) and British because I applied for British citizenship for them on the grounds that I was born in the UK.

    Getting them National Insurance numbers may prove to be a lot more difficult though . . .

  3. My favorite part of the American Embassy there is the vending machines, they stock the most random American foods. Glad it went smoothly!

  4. Aunt Barky

    Can I just say how amazed I am that you are still managing to blog every.single.day despite the arrival of the wee one? Aren’t you supposed to be completely overwhelmed, exhausted and crazed?!

  5. I’m surprised like Almost American, I would have thought he would be a British citizen by birth.

  6. poren

    okay your London experience is beyond cool (i know because i am a devoted fan of your blog). fine you can bring your baby to a bar and it is classy and socially acceptable because it is called a pub, but seriously, I did cry a little for you to read that you still think of Bush as president. That was SO 2008. I hope you are still not having nightmares about extraordinary rendition and abstinence-only education-it’s a whole new era (or so I am told). Plus, Barack Obama would look so much better scaling that eagle. kidding!

  7. Farg

    You are my Bar-hopping-with-baby-in-tow-don’t-let-a-baby-rule-out-jello-shots-idol!

Leave a Reply

