my favourite holiday

is Fourth of July of course. I am sure I mentioned it last year.

Matt & Trish hosted a bit of an international crowd at a 4th of July barbecue in their flat and garden in Notting Hill. The fancy dress theme was, wait for it: red, white & blue. Remember fancy dress means costume/theme, not formal. Bah.

IMG_7093

IMG_7083 IMG_7114

Sarah & Andrea posed for my v. favorite pic. Andrea is Italian, and not the Long Island chicken parm-eating kind. The real deal. Sarah is from Texas. I am throwing in a photo they sent me from their wedding in Tuscany a couple weeks ago. Just because I can.

IMG_7095 -1

IMG_7113People brought to the bbq all kind of delicious staples from home like chili, rice crispy treats, macaroni & cheese, hot dogs and my family’s very-famous potato salad. I am not kidding about its fame. Try it for yourself.

Potato Salad recipe

4 cups diced cooked potato (I prefer peeled Idaho baking potatoes)
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
i med onion diced
1/2 cup celery chopped
4 hard boiled eggs, diced

mix these 3 ingredients together and then mix together and pour over the potato mixture

1 cup mayo
1 tbl mustard (I like spicy brown and I also put in way more than this says)
2 tbl apple cider vinegar

Tastes much better after it’s been in the fridge for awhile.

And Siobhan made a red, white & blue cake with some serious dedication and attention to detail.

IMG_7107 IMG_7124

The more important part of the story is how fun the day was. Lots of great people and tunes (we even suffered through “Proud to Be An American” by Lee Greenwood several times). Independence Day always seems even more meaningful when abroad. Especially because Trish’s cousin made jello shots and you know momma had one.

IMG_7082 IMG_7096

Jonah lasted for 8 hours being passed from person to person and through several patriotic outfit changes, starting with his Obama onesie of course (thanks poren!). Matt & Trish are such thoughtful hosts they even constructed a nursing corner for me called ‘Jonah’s Diner’. Not a bad way to celebrate your 3-week old birthday.

IMG_7075 IMG_7074 IMG_7080 IMG_7099 IMG_7077 IMG_7100 IMG_7121 IMG_7131

8 Comments

Filed under culture i guess, food, friends, holidays, photos

8 responses to “my favourite holiday

  1. Aunt Barky

    Only 3 weeks old and already charming the ladies.

  2. poren

    so fun!! Jonah is such a patriot. You know I love the shout out;)
    In the hopes of getting another one, next July 4th, I am going to tell you my secret additional ingredients for my potato salad (fresh dill and little pieces of chopped up pickle)…also, you must know that your lemonade post inspired my homemade July 5th picnic beverage-a bottle of lemon vodka, two cans of lemonade concentrate, and sparkling water. Yes, I am absurdly hungover for a Monday.

  3. toshalot

    #1 sarah’s wedding dress is to-die-for!
    #2 siobhan’s cake makes my mouth water. wow! its beautiful!
    #3 glad you guys were able to get out and have some fun with friends on the fourth 🙂

  4. NeNe

    What a fabulous way to celebrate the 4th! As for the potato salad recipe, we are officially renaming it “La La’s Potato Salad.” Note to Poren: The recipe comes from Yael’s grandmother’s cookbook and actually calls for chopped up pickle, but because I personally don’t like sweet or dill pickles, I’ve never put it in, so Yael didn’t. As for the dill, that’s intriguing!

  5. Bonnie, a Richmond Girl

    are you sure you had that baby 3 weeks ago??? you look Fabulous!!!!! you go girl.

  6. Virginia

    I’m behind…but I totally second Bonnie, you look awesome!!!!

  7. poren

    Ne Ne, totally try the dill! I am going to try the hard boiled egg and cider vinegar, next time….love the family tradition.

    and seriously I am so with everyone-Yael, HOW did you JUST have a baby???? you look freaking amazing.

  8. toshalot

    note- yael wore that dress her wedding weekend in jamaica. still looks damn good, huh?

Leave a Reply

