oh yeah i am supposed to blog today

I really wish you would instead. Hmph.

I have admitted before I subscribe to Gwyneth Paltrow’s newsletter Goop. If by subscribe one means that I gave my email address to someone. I totally agree with this NY Mag article about why her newsletter is sort of fascinating. But mostly I read it to vindicate my coolness- if there is a shred lurking somewhere that is. Gwynnie wrote about her fave restaurants in London once and lo and behold her fave of all is Le Petite Maison and it turns out we have been there twice, and are going again Saturday with friends. Before we even knew she recommended it. Yeah, stick it.

Anyway, in today’s issue of Goop, delivered straight to my Inbox- the Gwynster again demonstrates why her newsletter is simultaneously repellent and modestly helpful:

Party Jams
For anyone in the mood for a spring dance party…I thought I would ask some super cool music experts for their ten favorite party tracks and thought the combined lists would make for a pretty great night. Looks good to me.
Get your mother lovin’ dance shoes on…

Love, Gwyneth

Why is she signing her email “love”? How many times can you use “super” as an adverb? I guess only twice and then you substitute with “wicked”. I jest. I am obviously jealous. You can’t see this newsletter online yet because those of us on email are in the know FIRST, but… some of the song suggestions were totes my steez. If a little OBvious. The problem is how she describes the DJs and later referring to herself in the third person. Which Yael just does not do enough.

DJ AM’s Picks:
(DJ AM is one of the most well-known DJs in America; he makes wicked remixes and is a super nice guy.)

“Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’” – Michael Jackson
“Into the Groove” – Madonna
“Lovefool” – The Cardigans
“Hypnotize” – The Notorious B.I.G.
“Be Faithful” – Crooklyn Clan
“Crazy in Love” – Beyoncé
“One More Time” – Daft Punk
“I Wanna Be Your Lover” – Prince
“Jump Around” – House of Pain
“Sweet Child O’ Mine” – Guns N’ Roses

Guy’s Picks:
(Guy Oseary is the Maverick man and played the DJ in Charlie’s Angels.)

’80s Play List

“Under Pressure” – David Bowie & Queen
“Tainted Love” – Soft Cell
“Let’s Go to Bed” – The Cure
“Just Can’t Get Enough” – Depeche Mode
“How Soon Is Now?” – The Smiths
“Our Lips Are Sealed” – Fun Boy Three
“Ghost Town” – The Specials
“Blue Monday” – New Order
“Burning Up” – Madonna
“Bankrobber” – The Clash

Gabe’s Picks:
(Gabe Tesoriero is VP of Publicity at Def Jam Recordings. His iPod always makes it happen – he is the life of the party.)

“House of Jealous Lovers” – The Rapture
“Paper Planes” – M.I.A.
“One More Time” – Daft Punk
“We Are Your Friends” – Justice
“What We Do” – Beanie Sigel, Freeway & Jay-Z
“Hey Ya” – OutKast
“L.A. Woman” – The Doors
“Feel Good Hit of the Summer” – Queens of the Stone Age
“Heartbeats” – The Knife
“Juicy” – The Notorious B.I.G.

Samantha’s Picks:
(Samantha Ronson is America’s best-loved and most well-known female DJ.)

“Another Star” – Stevie Wonder
“Stomp!” – The Brothers Johnson
“Into the Groove” – Madonna
“Can You Feel It” – The Jacksons
“Big Pimpin’” – Jay-Z
“Groove Me” – King Floyd
“Toxic” – Mark Ronson feat. ODB
“Electric Feel (Justice Remix)” – MGMT
“Music Sounds Better with You” – Stardust
“The Bomb! (These Sounds Fall Into My Mind)” – The Bucketheads

Phil’s Picks:
(Phil Harvey is the devastatingly handsome fifth member of Coldplay.)

“1 Thing” – Amerie
“Groove Is in the Heart” – Deee-Lite
“Cigarettes and Alcohol” – Oasis
“Out of Space” – The Prodigy
“1979” – Smashing Pumpkins
“Superstylin’” – Groove Armada
“Step On” – Happy Mondays
“Doo Wop (That Thing)” – Lauryn Hill
“Into Your Arms” – The Lemonheads
“Sir Duke” – Stevie Wonder

William’s Picks:
(William Orbit is a Grammy Award-winning producer who did albums like Blur’s 13 and Madonna’s Ray of Light. He is a musical prodigy and lives in London.)

These are my top ten party favourites! I was visualising a party with a wide range of age and taste. They’re listed in order of play, not of preference.

“Car Wash (Shark Tale Mix)” – Christina Aguilera and Missy Elliott
“Music” – Madonna
“Don’t Stop the Music” – Rihanna
“Rock This Party (Everybody Dance Now)” – Bob Sinclair
“Wearing My Rolex” – Wiley
“Jump Around” – House of Pain
“Groove Is in the Heart” – Deee-Lite
“I See You Baby” – Groove Armada
“Filthy Gorgeous” – Scissor Sisters
“Crank That (Soulja Boy)” – Soulja Boy Tell ‘Em

Gwyneth’s Picks:
(Gwyneth Paltrow is not a music expert but is an avid listener and knows how to get down.)

“You Only Live Once” – The Strokes
“Time to Pretend” – MGMT
“Let’s Go Crazy” – Prince & The Revolution
“Paper Planes (DFA Remix)” – M.I.A.
“Someone Great” – LCD Soundsystem
“Strawberry Swing” – Coldplay
“Mr. Brightside (Jacques Lu Cont’s Thin White Duke Mix)” – The Killers
“Keep The Car Running” – Arcade Fire
“Single Ladies” – Beyonce
“Wrong Prayer” – Jaydiohead (Jay-Z & Radiohead) http://jaydiohead.com

6 Comments

Filed under celebrities, music - HA!

6 responses to “oh yeah i am supposed to blog today

  1. mdouris25

    Meghan totally thinks those lists are wicked super and wonders why she’s never heard of “jaydiohead.”

  2. poren

    Thank you for blogging today, Yael. My day was greatly improved (approximately 100%) by your efforts (that is how bad my day was and how good your blog is). I thought you were kidding about the “wicked” thing until I scrolled down, amazing.
    I really want to like Gwyneth, and i love her mom, LOVE, but there is something about that one…

    p.s. I echo everyone in your “mum” comments, you are one gorgeous mother-to-be, the belly rocks.

  3. dad

    What? No Woody Herman? No Artie Shaw? What about “Louie Louie?” Go figure.

  4. Apparently, DJ = being able to pick random songs on your laptop.

    Hey, Pandora is my DJ.

  5. toshalot

    are you serious? is that really how gwenth paltrow writes/speaks/thinks? ewww. and the fact that she didn’t pick one song from her bff madge, appalling!

Leave a Reply

