harrods

img_5561Micah and Janelle went to Harrods the other day. They were smart and ate their way through the famous food halls instead of taking photos. But last week we went with Bryan’s dad & Mary and I captured a few. We’ve been to Harrods before, and it’s as touristy as you might think. But there’s a reason people go there and I really can’t say you should avoid it on a trip to London. It’s worth a visit: for the counter treats, the 23 restaurants inside, the woman singing opera by the escalators, the luxury mini-department store for pets, the value of the handbags and ties and sunglasses and perfume that will make you wonder how one becomes an oil baron in the first place, the Cuban cigars and $1,000 bottles of wine, the couture, the Diana & Dodi memorials, the antique map room, the toys, the logo and the location. It’s probably the most famous department store in the world, and there are worse claims to fame.

img_5439 img_5441 img_5445 img_5428 img_5429 img_5431 img_5435 img_5436 img_5437 img_5448 img_5451 img_5454 img_5455 img_5459 img_5472 img_5476 img_5486 img_5487 img_5492 img_5497 img_5500 img_5504 img_5515 img_5534 img_5553 img_5556 img_5559 img_5536 img_5537 img_5544 img_5541 img_5529 img_5550

6 Comments

Filed under london

6 responses to “harrods

  1. I’m such a food bitch that when we were in London one time, Jenny dragged me practically kicking and screaming to Harrod’s, with promises of a food paradise. And it didn’t dissapoint – it’s actually really neat.
    It’s totally touristy, no doubt, but seeing some of the ridiculous things on display really are worth the trek.
    Oh, and Slumdog *will* win, and so will Ledger. Those are pretty much set in stone.

  2. mdouris25

    I was prepared to have a love/hate relationship with Harrod’s and when I went it became all un-abashedly “love”. Everyone kept talking about the food paradise – and all I could envision was basically Grand Central Market in the middle of Bloomingdales – meh. It’s rarely felt as good as it did then to be w-r-o-n-g. It was pretty awesome. And they checked my luggage. I can’t even get the counter person at Bloomingdales to pay attention to me long enough to ring up the item I’m purchasing – nevermind checking my luggage, being supremely polite and helpful and essentially acting as personal shoppers to help me find things I might like.

  3. sonjey

    Harrods was Heavenly!!!!!

  4. They have a Krispy Kreme?! Actually, I don’t know why that surprises me – Harrods has sold American style (i.e. large) fridges for many years – why not other American things?

  5. poren

    umm, holy cr*p, where can I get that cheetah coat and are said counter treats complimentary?? Kidding re the cheetah coat-I would never kid about free food;)

    p.s. i am protesting the oscars since gran torino-which i have yet to see, but heard is great- got the cold shoulder. are clint and leo the same??

  6. Pingback: half term crushed. frenzy begins now. full stop. full stop. | the part where we move to london

Leave a Reply

