xoxo

There is something seriously wrong with these pictures:

img_5572 img_5573 img_5574

The chocolate and candy (sweets, if you will) are not specially packaged in red and pink or turned into heart shapes and individual packs with To: and From: lines for individual gift gifting. It is as though we are in this alternate universe where Valentine’s is not exploited properly for commercial gain. I just don’t know how I feel about this. I miss Necco conversation hearts. : (

Taking matters into my own hands, I attempted sugar cookies- which I haven’t made in a long time. Luckily the English are not so anti-Cupid and I was able to procure heart-shaped cookie cutters. Biscuit cutters. If you will. The jury is out on the cookies and I was too tired to get the photos right, but just in case you will be staying in tonight with no life, but with fervent joy in your heart for V-tines, here is the recipe.

img_5577 img_5578

I almost forgot. I love you. Happy Valentine’s Day.

10 Comments

Filed under culture clash, food, holidays, photos

10 responses to “xoxo

  1. This is my third Valentines Day in the US, and I’ve now got used (and quite like) the idea of spending $3.99 on 32 Scooby Doo valentine cards, for my child to sign and send to his classmates. And the next excuse for large amounts of artificial food coloring and sugar being offered to him at school, just before home-time.

    But the first time round, it felt very alien. I had to focus quite hard on the “friendship” aspect. As it’s a day solely for lurvers in the UK, it felt only borderline ok to see all the kids-orientated marketing.

    Just another way in which I’ve acclimatised (acclimated). I confess I have also made sugar cookies with pink icing with my daughter (it’s more fun to do with them when they are outside the womb, but also slower and messier).

  2. treeennner

    Happy ValentiMes day!!

    Now. give us some belly pictures!!!!

  3. big pipes

    BELLY!!!!!! BELLY!!!!!! BELLY!!!!! CAN YOU DRAW A HAPPY FACE ON IT?

  4. You should come to my local Sainsbury’s, there’s plenty of American-style packaged up kitchy candy in red boxes here!

  5. Elizabeth

    I’m transfixed by the mint Aero bar at the bottom of the chocolate-aisle photo. Oh, I love those.

  6. Oh me goodness, I totally hear you. I’ve searched high and low for a heart shape cookie cutter in this damn country. Last year my husband made one for me out of an old soup can.

    Love your blog.

  7. caitlin0210

    Where did you find the cookie cutters? I will never understand why things like this are so difficult to locate.

    Do you mind if I add you to my blog roll? http://www.howtoplayhouse.wordpress.com

  8. Peter Bond

    Our heart shaped biscuit/cookie cutters came from John Lewis. They are even pink!

  9. yael

    I welcome all blogrolls and people who want to talk about cookie cutters. I got mine at this kitchen store called Divertimenti but I bet they can be ordered on-line.

    I just got conversation hearts in the mail. I am a happy girl.

  10. snosh

    you once sent me those conversation hearts loose in a card while i was in honduras. when the envelope arrived it was full of pink dust. but that was better than the previous year when you sent me red hots loose in the envelope and they melted and stuck to the card … i loved it all the same 🙂

Leave a comment