“pasta”

spaghetti-bologneseThe other night I made Spaghetti Bolognese (this is not my photo, sadly). I used Tyler Florence’s recipe except I did not simmer it for 9 days as instructed. Who has time to simmer things all day? Who are these people? I want to add these people to my Facebook friends and then keep sending them superpokes and l’il green patches. Or just ruin their sauce when they’re not looking by sprinkling in dried, horror, basil. DRIED. People often mistakenly think Bolognese is a red sauce. Do you ever wonder how you personally vindicated yourself before Wikipedia came around? I’ve actually woken up from nightmares like that. There’s always me crying in an empty house after everyone tells me I lost a bet that I know I didn’t lose. And then there is inexplicably a sheepdog and a bag of sour cola gummies. I eat the sour cola bottles and then cry more.

The point is (obviously) “pasta” might be the only word in the English language that Americans pronounce as though they are British and the British pronounce as though they are from Buffalo or Wisconsin.

They say it like paaaa(as in “pass me the butter”)ssssta.

Bryan and I cringe a little every time we hear it. No, we cringe a lot. Unfortunately there is this Pizza Hut commercial/advert on tv/telly here that likes to repeat it a lot. Paaaaassssssta.

Americans can handle the “shedules” and “proh-cesses” and “Haeche. R.s” (Human Resources) that offend our ears because of all the beauty that balances it- like “lovely” and “darling”. But passssta is over the edge. The sound of it can make you go on the Atkins Diet.

By now you have heard the exciting news about the woman in California that gave birth to a litter of puppies. Dibs on the runt!

10 Comments

Filed under food, quantum physics, translation

10 responses to ““pasta”

  1. I’d never thought of that, but you’re right. We have exchanged accents over the word “pasta”. I think the American is closer to the Italian, so I’m going to have to concede on this one.

  2. treeennner

    its almost as bad as a chicago accent!

  3. poren

    agreed…If the person starts to say pasta and there is potential that he or she could be about to say “panties” it’s not a good thing…I discovered the accent from knowing Duncan Peterson (how much do you miss Dunks??)-who in his defense, does make an excellent orecchiette dish which I have adapted and now claim as my own.

  4. yael

    Immediately give me this orecchiette recipe. Seriously.

  5. caitlin0210

    I just found your blog. Very clever! I also despise how the Brits say pasta and the fact that I am actually seeing Pasta Huts opening up around here.

  6. poren

    Ha ha. I may have talked it up too much. Like all my recipes soooo easy-so as a master chef, you may laugh at me. It is a cold pasta salad with orecchiette, broccoli (frozen), little balls of fresh mozzarella (or I like slices of Horizon brand string cheese), tomato, black olive circles, with olive oil and sea salt and pepper to taste. I think my “adaptation” was adding black olives so if you make it without it is a Duncan Peterson original.

    If you like the ease, I can follow up with my 5 ingredient recipe for sweet and sour cabbage soup. Commenting on your blog is sooo much better than working;)

  7. It’s odd to think that we’ve got pasta/paaasta that way round, and it’s the opposite when we come to ass/arse.

  8. Pingback: search term alert: spaghetti « the part where we move to london

  9. Anna

    I believe the correct pronounciation is probably somewhere in between – I’ve certainly never heard an Italian say par-sta, and somehow to us Brits it sounds like an American trying to sound posh, which always makes us guffaw! In fact, pasta is probably one of the few words that we all pronounce in the same way in the UK. I’m puzzled by this ‘Haeche R’ thing, as normally only people from Essex or the Midlands, say, actually voice the H. And you can rest assured, you will never hear a single one of us refer to our ‘panties’ (or is it ‘parn-tees’)!

Leave a Reply

