our very american neighborhood

Our neighborhood is beautiful, centrally-located and near fantastic parks, restaurants and pubs. So I am not going to cry too much about the Americans crawling all over the place. As our English neighbor calls Marylebone- “the 52nd state” (and I keep wondering what the 51st is… did I miss something?).

But even I had a moment of pause at the grocery store last night when there was a huge display in the middle of the store with loads of these:

libbys-pumpkin2

And then a big sign beneath: “GET YOUR LIBBY’S PUMPKIN PIE FILLING NOW- A MUST-HAVE FOR THANKSGIVING!”

And I actually feel guilty for some reason.

6 Comments

Filed under food, holidays, london

6 responses to “our very american neighborhood

  1. I impressed myself by making a pumpkin pie this year (last year I just bought one). I used the recipe on the Libby’s label. It was delicious! So now I’m all practiced and can do another for Thanksgiving.

  2. mdouris

    It’s really funny you should write this! This morning I received an email from one of my good friends – who is British – advising me that “he’d be flying over [from England] for a few days around Thanksgiving.” – I immediately thought how odd it was for him to reference his trip around an American holiday that means nothing to him! Not only that, I NEVER know when Thanksgiving is, I always have to look at the calendar to figure out what random Thursday I’ll have off and yet my British friend knew precisely when it was?! Am I a “bad American” or is he the “good wanna be American”?

  3. yael

    Mmm, pumpkin pie. Can someone mail THAT from the U.S.??

    M- you are a mediocre American. Thanksgiving is always the last Thursday in November. I actually may have just made that up. But my authoritative nature is very attractive, no?

  4. Okay, where is this store and how do I get there? 🙂

  5. Maddo

    I think the 51st state is Canada.

  6. yael

    Oh right, Canada. Thanks dude.

Leave a Reply

