fill my heart with song and let me sing forever more

London just does not allow the creative busking that goes on every day in New York City. And it’s London’s loss. A day rarely goes by that I don’t sigh and lament the dull sounds greeting me on the subway platforms and on the trains. No hip hoppers doing backflips, kids selling Peanut M&Ms for their “basketball team”, no singer-songwriter long-haired type strumming me the right tune to deliver me home from a long day’s work, no illegal aliens with flutes and windchimes and no homeless man with no teeth expertly gumming Under the Boardwalk…Unner ne boywah ow uh da sun Unner ne boywah we ee haheen sun fun…  I just miss it. I don’t know why they’re so strict here.

So you can imagine my pleasant, pleasant surprise when I have come out of the tube station near work a few mornings lately to the sound of a solo tuba serenading us with a little Frank Sinatra. And with precision on the notes to the point where I feel like belting out the words too… FLY ME TO THE MOON AND LET ME PLAY AMONG THE STARS… It makes me smile because it renews my hope in London for happy musical surprises around every corner. It makes me feel a little New York.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Oh, and then I see it’s not a tuba.

5 Comments

Filed under london, music - HA!, photos

5 responses to “fill my heart with song and let me sing forever more

  1. I am not selling this candy for any basketball teams. I am looking to get myself off the street, and get some money in my pocket. All donations are accepted. Donations!

  2. I lived in London in the late 80s and throughout the 90s, and there were buskers everywhere. I wonder what has happened. There’s probably been a clean-up. More’s the pity, as you say.

  3. triniis

    “gumming Under the Boardwalk…Unner ne boywah ow uh da sun Unner ne boywah we ee haheen sun fun… ”

    i just pissed my pants! i love it!!!

  4. nattyvonne

    now you’re just making sh*t up! i totally don’t believe that guy in the pic was pffff’ing frank sinatra through a traffic cone … but i laugh anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

