blogger? i hardly knew her!

My inner loser decided to attend a bloggers event last night. And I roped a few peeps into it. Here’s the deal: I don’t understand RSS feeds, twitter, anything with the word meta in it. Are you feeling me? I started this blog the day we moved to London so that I wouldn’t have to repeat our tales of adventures more than once. I am nothing if not dedicatedly lazy.

Then little things happen like WordPress advertises it and I get over 300 views one day (which is equivalent to dogpoop if you’re a real blogger but nonetheless). Or someone says, you’re funny. If you wrote a book I would buy it. And then I think, wait- are you serious? EASYYYYYY STREEEEEEEET. 3 more stories about being unemployed and cooking lamb for skinny Bryan and we are SET.FOR.LIFE. Then I wake up from the dream and I am still trying to bribe people to comment on a post, devising ways to screw the landlord in the future out of the last month’s rent and eating expired cottage cheese because Bryan keeps making me nervous that the stock market just ate our life’s savings and “maybe we shouldn’t go too crazy on Christmas presents this year”.

So the blogger thing was hosted by Smirnoff at the Diageo headquarters- home of your favorite brands like Guinness, Captain Morgan and Cuervo. Wait, I know you “hate” Cuervo now because you got all older and wiser and annoying. But remember that time you did so many shots of it and you were 23 and you felt like the ruler of the universe and then you had a bad hangover? That was so fun.

So yeah Smirnoff. This is where marketing and brand awareness and everything 2.0 are lost on me. I might have been being played. In fact, I have now mentioned Smirnoff three times. Just because I was plied with a few free drinks. SMIRNOFF. Apparently I was also in the presence of greatness. I talked to this blogger for awhile: http://london-underground.blogspot.com/. She’s a big deal in London and it’s cool to see how she writes about experiencing the NY subway for the first time. F train represent.

Wait, what was I saying? I have no idea. I didn’t learn much last night except that maybe if I try blogging really really hard for six years, um I still won’t be able to quit my day job. Day job, I love you so much. That shirt is really flattering on you.

P.S. I will randonly draw one name from those who comment today and the lucky winner will get a bottle of Smirnoff mailed to you with special messages from me and Bryan sharpied all over it. If no one comments, I will instead drink the bottle myself and dance around the flat to Edie Brickell & the New Bohemians and PM Dawn.

16 Comments

Filed under blogging, bryan, career, fiscal responsibility, flat, friends, holidays, london, music - HA!, nyc, photos

16 responses to “blogger? i hardly knew her!

  1. babcocks7

    How can I resist that invitation to comment? Love Smirnoff.

  2. Matt

    I am a drunk. Send me hooch.

  3. Pleban

    Pick me – but don’t send the bottle, just send PM Dawn CD please.

  4. triniis

    Chi-town girl needs to keep warm in the winter. Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me! Pick Me!

  5. poren

    If you select me, may I have a freeze dried latke instead???? You can autograph it with homemade applesauce.

  6. mira

    I was just listening to “What I am” by Edie Brickell (from the mixed CD you made me no less) yesterday in the car so I think you should automatically just draw me.

  7. A blogger’s event, huh? Did you talk about whether you preferred Dune v. The Dark Crystal? NERD!

  8. Nilda

    How’d I know my husband would comment on a post for free booze??

  9. Josh

    Wikipedia:
    “Vladimir Smirnov re-established his vodka factory in 1920 in Istanbul. Four years later he moved to Lwów (formerly Poland, now Lviv, Ukraine) and started to sell the vodka under the contemporary French spelling of the name, “Smirnoff”.”

    Yael, your paternal great-grandfather lived in Pinsk during that same time. But his father and much of his family lived across the Pripyat river closer to the then-new Smirnoff factory in Lwów.

    What I am trying to say is that this is a family heirloom. Send me the bottle.

  10. Maddo

    I’m not shamelessly commenting for the bottle of crap vodka, but I love the nod to PM Dawn; which I take as a nod to me. I’m set adrift on memory bliss…

  11. Hi Yael, It was awesome to meet you (and your hubby) yesterday!

    I already have my own bottle of vodka, but I’d settle for having lunch (or TEA!!!) together sometime… 🙂

  12. Snosh

    Am I on drugs? Did I peruse this post too quickly or did you mention why there is a pic of you, Bryan, Sam and Ericka with this post? I’m cornfused … I’ll read it again I guess. I mean, do they work for Smirnoff? Did they go to the event with you?

  13. Do we have a better chance to win if we’re here in England and don’t have to make you face customs?

  14. Farg

    Does working at a rehab include or exclude me from the running? Hmmm….

  15. Great to meet you and your friends… hope to see you at the next one – I’ll be adding your blog to my reader!

  16. Rax

    Utt! That was supposed to be a present!!! Only joking 😉 – Hope you had a good night? I’ve sent you the recipe for the special “Yael Cocktail” – which contained amongst other things Maple Syrup (the GOLDie connection) and muddled apples (the NY connection).

    Hopefully see you at the next meetup?

    Rax

Leave a Reply

