lord, what fools these mortals be!

We saw Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream last night at the Globe Theatre. The play that brought the world such gems as “The course of true love never did run smooth…” The Globe is a theater re-created along the south bank of the River Thames, in as exacting a style and with authentic building materials as possible to replicate the Globe theater where Shakespeare’s plays were once performed in London centuries ago. Which means it is outdoors and there are “groundling” (standing room) tickets as well.

The show was fantastically performed, and we laughed quite a bit. It is one of my favorites of Shakespeare’s plays- maybe for the light theme, maybe for the fact that I understand it (I was no English major), but most likely for the sentimental value. In 1989/1990(?) I played Helena in Swanson Intermediate’s 8th grade production of the classic, the true apex of my illustriously short-lived acting career. My counterparts in that play are still some of my closest friends today. As the actors said their lines last night, I gave Bryan a play-by-play of which friend of ours played whom, which I am sure really enhanced his experience. Not at all.

Forgive the illegally procured no-flash photographs:

If we shadows have offended,

Think but this, and all is mended,

That you have but slumbered here

While these visions did appear.

10 Comments

Filed under friends, london, photos

10 responses to “lord, what fools these mortals be!

  1. Rebarky

    OMG! (note strategic use of yet another acronym). Totally brings back memories of junior high. I think you had a starring role and I played one of 800 midgets or something. Didn’t I? Mira or someone else with Rainman-like memory needs to weigh in.

  2. Pleban

    I’m jealous.
    If I ever had to choose my favorite between Bottom the weaver, Snug the joiner, and Snout the tinker, I think my head would explode.

  3. The irony of this is that the pinnacle of my own dramatic career was when I was Josephine in HMS Pinafore at Hutchison Elem., which sadly was in Fairfax county schools, not Arlington.

  4. yael

    Pleban, that makes me laugh just thinking about it.

    And Rivkah, I discovered last night that the “Mechanicals” are the most entertaining part of the play. So I guess you were ahead of your time.

    Oh yes, Arlington is where acting dreams begin. And so often end…

  5. Big Pipes

    O Helena, goddess, nymph, perfect, divine!
    To what, my love, shall I compare thine eyne?
    Crystal is muddy. O, how ripe in show
    Thy lips, those kissing cherries, tempting grow!
    That pure congealed white, high Taurus snow,
    Fann’d with the eastern wind, turns to a crow
    When thou hold’st up thy hand: O, let me kiss
    This princess of pure white, this seal of bliss!
    please don’t dump me for Clark Schweres.

  6. yael

    I want my earrings back.

  7. Big Pipes

    trade you for my orange shirt.

  8. I’ve seen Shakespeare in th Globe, and it really is incredible! What an experience!

  9. tosha

    uhm, i still thought you were best as Alice in “Go Ask Alice”.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

