english hats

You know you love them, everybody does. It’s how Americans can romanticize British weddings and royalty. I actually have few goals over the next few years (besides finish The Wire and keep avoiding gingivitis) but one of them is: get invited to an English wedding. The first step is to make an English friend. Crap.

Some people had harsh words for SJP’s Philip Treacy hat at the SATC premiere in London.

Not me. I thought it was adorable and one of the few ways we can still differentiate British and American culture (because they like Doritos here so that won’t work…).

My favorite other expat blogger in London who will become my best friend once we meet, writes about these hats and “fascinators”, and I just want one sooo bad. And have you heard the news? George Bush is coming to London. It’s like The Beatles in reverse. Now I know what to wear for his arrival.

By the way, the new Xbox cord worked. Bryan said, you are a lucky girl. I was like, YOU ARE A LUCKY BOY. I AM AWESOME. I didn’t present any supporting facts, just the conclusion.

K, off to Amsterdam tonight. Happy 3-day weekend to everyone in the U.S. and U.K. Whoaaaaaaaaa, we are so on the same page.

9 Comments

Filed under bryan, london, politics...sike!

9 responses to “english hats

  1. Ida

    We do like doritos here in the UK–who told you otherwise??? The only people criticizing SJ’s hat were of the media–she actually enjoyed all of the fuss because it brought more attention to the movie. Bush coming to London, well since that has already happened a year ago I’m guessing it won’t be as much of a spectacle this time around. No one likes him here and that includes this American living in London!

  2. kate

    i didn’t know you watched the wire. I LOVE that show!

  3. yael

    Ida, I said the Brits like Doritos!! We agree! Kate, we got into The Wire 2 years ago because Josh is die-hard. He was right. For everyone reading this, watch Friday Night Lights too. TV addictions are good.

  4. I’m actually 45 minutes on the fast train north in Cambridge, not London, but I’ll be in London the weekend of June 7th, busy Saturday day and night but with lots of free time on Sunday the 8th so let me know if you’re around then 🙂

  5. Multivalence says : I absolutely agree with this !

  6. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Respectfulness
    .

  7. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Torsionally.

  8. onegulpstories

    Were you a part of Ladies Day? I thought of you when I saw this:

    http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Royal-Ascot-Race/ss/events/sp/061808royalascot/im:/080619/photos_us_rank_afp/65ccea4538172add1d7346f7fad86011/

    (could this address be any longer?)

  9. Oh they are soooo fantastic these hats!!! I would realy like hats to be “allowed” in Denmark!

Leave a Reply

