geography

Oh yeah, this weekend was blazing sunshine, blue skies, and multiple parks. And you know I have the pictures (including close-ups of unsuspecting strangers) to prove it. But let’s save that for tomorrow…

Mother\'s Day 2007“Mothering Sunday” in the UK was in March. Because I am card-obsessed and mother-loving, I bought all my greeting cards then, so I could be prepared for the US holiday in May. But no matter how much advance planning for holidays I do, there is no substitute for the real thing. So I would like to take a moment to honor last year’s Mother’s Day- a first in many years for my mom- all her children were in the same physical location. New York in fact. Micah and Josh were coming off an unmentionable 48 hours of Bryan’s bachelor party. So my mom carpe diemed it straight out of Arlington and drove to see all her offspring in the same place, on Mother’s Day no less! 10 hours round trip was a small price to pay for such fortuitous geographic luck. And it was special, and perfect. Even though, as is more often than not the case, I look like a small, Swedish boy in the Polaroid shown here.

So when you’re counting all your blessings, count the geographic ones too. Because the top ten people closest to my heart all live hundreds or thousands of miles away, and perhaps always will. And that will always break my heart.

3 Comments

Filed under family, photos

3 responses to “geography

  1. Josh

    that was a good day.

  2. Ney Ney

    one of the best mother’s days ever.

  3. Sonjey

    So sweet…… the best daughter, Ney Ney!!!

Leave a Reply

