the college rat race

(Why is it “rat race?” Rats are gross.)

My father alerted me to this article here.

I will of course use it to vindicate my choice not to attend Vassar, which only has name recognition and about $27,000 more a year on tuition expenses over my alma mater, JMU (you’re welcome, mom and dad). Go Dukes.

But seriously, this article has me scared. Time was, fairly bright but not very hardworking students, like my siblings and me, could get into a decent school. (Yeah, I called myself bright. Deal with it. Tomorrow I will be back to self-loathing.)

But now I am thinking that pre-K is too early to start on the activities designed to get children into a good school. Piano lessons at age 4? Too late. Black belt by 7. Good luck buddy! Started a 501(c)(3) to help the homeless by 2nd grade? Yaaaaawn.

So I have informed my family that I am enrolling my yet-to-be-conceived children into SAT prep courses, as we speak/blog. I am not even remotely trying to get pregnant, but I am currently rubbing my belly and going through vocabulary flash cards. Just in case my eggs are listening.

4 Comments

Filed under family, not-yet-conceived children

4 responses to “the college rat race

  1. Ney Ney

    I have to weigh in on this one. I actually either stood in line, camped out or just made a hysterical, pleading phone call (time has a way of healing all wounds and all memories) in order to get you into Mt Olivet Preschool, then dumped Mt Olivet when you were accepted into Montessori. Either way, maybe it was that critical decision on my part that laid the foundation of your subsequent academic career.

  2. Sonjey

    tell the eggs to meet up with Bry later!!!

  3. yaelgutt

    I don’t know which is more disturbing: my mother taking credit for my mediocre academic career (truly all downhill from Montessori, let’s be honest) or my mother-in-law telling me to do something x-rated.

    But I love you both.

  4. Pingback: expensive parties for children « the part where we move to london

Leave a Reply

