a pretty nice little weekend

Frank: I told my wife I wouldn’t drink tonight. Besides, I got a big day tomorrow. You guys have a great time.
College Student: A big day? Doing what?
Frank: Well, um, actually a pretty nice little Saturday, we’re going to go to Home Depot. Yeah, buy some wallpaper, maybe get some flooring, stuff like that. Maybe Bed, Bath, & Beyond, I don’t know, I don’t know if we’ll have enough time.

In the beginning, in a new place, without a lot of friends and family, weekends are like mini vacations. There are no brunches and birthday parties on the schedule, and we can do whatever we feel like.Bryan xbox

Like Bryan can play lots of Xbox.

And I can talk to my brothers simultaneously on the headset.

Thursday night, Kara across the street (also works for CEB, go figure) took pity on me once again, and just as I was slumping into serious boredom, she texted me to go get drinks. Everyone here texts, all the time, because even local calls are so expensive.

Friday night I met Bryan in Soho and we happened upon the perfect Indonesian restaurant, if you subtract the girl coughing the entire time we were there, and the fishtank that was basically on top of our table. Soho is amazing, so bumping at night.

Saturday I forced Bryan to go to the gym. That is such a big event that it sort of took all day to prepare for.

Nandini & Sumit’s for dinner Saturday night we were invited to Bryan’s boss’ house- the woman that runs the entire London office. Here’s a piece of unsolicited advice: never ask a man what the dress code is for a dinner party. Bryan assured me it was casual and we could be fashionably late. So essentially we showed up late, in jeans, and the other couple was already there with the hosts, woman in dress and man with jacket. My embarrassment quickly waned as we were plied continuously with champagne and wine, and our hosts prepared the most delicious Indian food I have ever had in my life.

Sunday, we decided to go to the Transit Museum. We first went to some farmer’s markets in Marylebone. We then took a long walk around Covent Garden, stopping at the famous pub, The Lamb & Flag. The majority of pubs and bars in England, as I can tell, are named along the convention “the noun & noun.” Fox & Hound, Crown & Sceptre, George & Dragon, Corney & Barrow, Anchor & Hope… with my favorite so far being The Slug & Lettuce. We then ate lunch in a huge open piazza. When it’s warm in London, the whole world is outside. After that, we dorked out for a couple hours at the museum. Pretty niiiiiice.

The Lamb & Flag Transit Museum I Transit Museum II

4 Comments

Filed under bryan, food, friends, london, photos

4 responses to “a pretty nice little weekend

  1. Barks

    That is so funny. We went to a dinner party this weekend and I asked Sean in advance how fancy it was and he said “casual” but fortunately for all involved I IGNORED his advice and wore a little dress and was among many in little dresses. So second piece of unsolicited and related advice is to simply ignore what men say.

    PS do you think KFC’s still open?
    PPS get it?

  2. yaelgutt

    I tot-ally get it 😉

  3. Josh

    George & Dragon… Did you go there and tell them that their pub is a ripoff of the original in Seattle?

  4. Josh

    Micah’s room-mate refuses to use the XBOX headset because he is paranoid that someone will walk into his house and see him in the same pose as Bryan right there.

Leave a Reply

