sicko

No, not the movie. Although the movie was gooood. And I usually don’t like Michael Moore…

In short, Bryan has been sick since we landed here. We kept attempting to power through, since we knew these 4 days before his job started were precious. But his flu-like symptoms were too much. In the 4 days we have been here, we have left our flat maybe a total of three hours. I have been to the drugstore 3-4 times, but not into any fun stores. I know, woe is me. He had a temperature that was fluctuating all over the place, and it didn’t help that I was alternating between Fahrenheit and Celcius thermometers (FYI: 39 degree C is a v. high temp). Last night we hit a wall- I was tired of eating peanut butter on bread for every meal, and tired of being a nurse, and lonely, and Bryan started speaking in tongues. I knew it was bad when he came out of the bedroom at midnight and said, “Get my mom on Skype. I want to talk to her before I die.”

That’s when we realized his fever was 103 degrees. Now here is the miraculous part: doctors in the UK make house calls. HOUSE CALLS! Am I in a movie? A very nice Dr. came to our flat one hour later with a wheely suitcase filled with drugs. He checked Bryan out, gave him meds (um, I don’t even have to go to a pharmacy??), told us about his diet, drank a glass of water, wrote out a bill, and left. Within 1/2 hour, after much ibuprofen and acetaminophen, the temperature plummeted. And we slept.

But it got me thinking… and I’m not going to go on a rant about socialized medicine (since the service we used was private). But I can’t help but feel like the U.S. culturally has a bad attitude about being sick. How does a person with the flu, who is alone at 1am, get to a doctor, and then to a 24-hour drugstore? And the medicine here was considerably cheaper.

Stay tuned next week when I take on the Second Amendment and how little violent crime there is here because guns are illegal. Just kidding dad, I won’t do that.

Bryan is on the mend. And we can’t wait to see London.

2 Comments

Filed under bryan, health, london, metric system, politics...sike!

2 responses to “sicko

  1. Joe

    Bryan being sick the first four days of London living = bad start.

    Yael blogging about the first four days of London living and more = good start.

    I’m so glad you are blogging!

  2. Sonjey

    My, my, when Bryan gets sick, he really gets it. Remember the time when Charlie pic ked you up and brought you to Long Island so momma could nurse you back. Well, thank goodness for your loving wife, glad to hear you are on the mend. Yael, keep on writing… who needs to work!!!!
    miss you and know that this will be a better week. Smart move taking another day bry
    love, mom

Leave a Reply

